March 25, 2026

Other Kine News

It's baaaack!

Today we went for mrguy's endoscopy and they "found a mass".

The doctors knew that something was up because of his recent PET scan, and have been awaiting the news. They are primed to act, so we look forward to talking to his oncologist and team asap to decide on a plan of action.

In the meantime he is processing the info very well, and is about to watch his favorite team on Opening Day.

Really, things could be lots worse.

I'm headed to the bedroom to wake him up :)

A few more things:
1) Prior to the endoscopy he participated in a study by blowing into a plastic bag. They are comparing the volatile elements that they find in the air of patients who have EC to see if they can find any markers that they could use in the future to detect it.

2) When he woke up from the anaesthesia this morning he was trying to speak, but they couldn't understand him. He told me he was trying to say "What are all of these people doing in my room?"


Garden News

I have been depressed. And doing family stuff that makes me feel crummy. But I went out into the garden the other day and got over myself. 

Nature!!

In the front yard the orchids are blooming. Such an embarrassment of riches. Orchids that just grow in your yard without any help. I took photos, brought some in, and shared some with ms clam, who lately has been in the guise of her alter ego: mama bear.



Also of note, our orange tree is doing its thing. As a reminder, last year it formed oranges for the first time in our 12 years at this address. Then the gardeners misunderstood mrguy's instructions and cut off the branch they were on. Well right now there are two oranges that you can barely make out in the center of the photo. One is the size of a tennis ball. The other is the size of a softball. And there are many huge blossoms that are the size of my pinkie finger's first joint (the one with the nail). 

Can't wait to see what happens.

March 21, 2026

Family Divorce

For happy news, please feel free to read a different post!

It has been unmercifully hot for the past week. In the third week of March the temperature in the aku room hit 120. My geraniums are well-watered but can't take the scorching. For the past few weeks, whenever I had a spare moment, and often when I did not, I was summoned by my family. There was confusing paperwork to look through. Copies to be made, decisions to consider. Several times in the past month I have bolted from work because there was family stuff to do. Or because I was so flipped out about it. Mrguy and I spoke to our estate attorney about any risk involved with selling the building. She asked a simple question: "What do you want mrguy's year to be like"? That was chilling. I don't want to feel the way I do right now, and certainly not if he's gone. But what about in-between? What am I putting him through with all the distress?

Urgent text messages have rained down upon us during my workday, telling us to look at important emails. When you find the email, it is marked up with highlights and fonts that change in the middle of words, looking like the digital equivalent of a ransom note. My sister, of course, was unaware of the font changes, but it's super distressing to be told to examine something and to have it be so illegible.

I have spoken to my siblings for hours on end this past week. We had two different two-hour meetings on Wednesday. Then the buyer came back with a reduced offer because of some bullshit excuse saying they had to retrofit the building. Our lawyer looked at the law and it says no such thing. It says that people have to file a letter before some time next year. And we know the buyer plans to flip the building right away so there is no way they're doing that work.

We came away from the second two-hour meeting deciding to go ahead and sell. Mrguy was super pissed. I feel trapped between my family and my family. I used the nuclear option and told my family to shove it. I cannot continue to live at this level of intensity any more and I want out of the family partnership. Take it. I want to be free, and to never have to deal with my sister again. Evvvvvver. I spoke to our lawyer to see if she could do the deed.

Then my sister pulled a rabbit out of a hat. Yes, reduced price. But they are going to take responsibility for the uncleared loans forever. I am weighing my options. I still want to have nothing to do with my sister. 

I have a dysfunctional family. And a toxic relationship with my sister. She's the head of the family and summons us for family meetings whenever we are together. Why did I hate family  "vacation?" Because we'd spend 2 hours a day discussing mom's medications or real estate. No meeting or phone call is fewer than 2 hours. It's always urgent. When I don't do things her way she gets mad or wears me down. This week felt like a trip back to the years 2015 through 2025 when I was the point person for my mom. The PTSD is real, people.

I don't know how this will pan out. My stomach is still in knots. Mrguy feels slightly guilty about yesterday when he was super pissed after a lifetime of my family's bullshit. He's on steroids, which kinda intensified his feelings. That helped me pull the trigger that I've wanted to pull for a long time.

More when I know it.

This is my desktop image from when I came home on Friday. The list of text messages didn't even fit on the screen.

March 15, 2026

Feuerzangenbowle 2026


We finally did it. The feuerzangenbowle dinner. I bought the feuerzangenbowle set in 2022, then we had to wait for the pandemic to be over, and our friends to stop traveling for a minute. Then mrguy got cancer and then he got better, then our friend came over last month and he and I started talking about spaetzle and schnitzel. It was ON!

We had a couple weeks' notice. I was going to make chicken schnitzel. Couldn't remember what sauce I served with it last time, but I saw a recipe for chicken schnitzel with mustard sauce and I just so happen to have purchased a very large bottle of Bautz'ner senf (mittelscharf) that would just plus the whole thing.

Then I went to an estate sale the week before and bought a german cookie form for ten bucks. I have always wanted one! So I was going to need to make cookies. And during the week we did a bread baking class at a brewery, and I had amazing fresh bread to serve. And of course I made a compound butter to serve with it.

The first step in making feuerzangenbowle is to make mulled wine. I got all decorative with that sh$t so I could take a picture for readers of mrsguy. The leaves are from our allspice tree, purchased from fastgrowingtrees.com during the pandemic. The tree is not fast growing. It is still only four feet tall, but the leaves are delicious and I use them in applesauce...and flaming punch, now, I guess.


The cookies turned out great. I made a Dutch speculaas cookie dough and watched some YouTube videos on how to make the cookies. Should have made them the day before, which I will do next time.

Our friends brought sides and different kinds of spaetzle and accoutrements and we had a great dinner. One friend took over the making of the mustard sauce, and it was delish.


And then we made the punch after dinner. You take the heated punch and put it in the bowl. Unwrap the zuckerhut and put it on the metal thingie that is suspended over the warmed punch. Pour a ladle full of 58% rum over the sugar. Turn out the lights. Set it on fire and watch the melting, rum-soaked sugar drop into the punch. Although the guys started a quiet drone-chant of "feuerzangen, feuerzangen, feuerzangen bowle", this is not traditional. 

It was so fun!